Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

How do I unpublish a page?

A step-by-step guide on how to unpublish RevEngine donation pages, with tips on handling default pages and recycling unique URLs.

Once a page is published, it is considered live, which means anyone accessing its URL (directly or via a link) will be able to view its contents and make a contribution.

Why unpublish a page?

A few reasons why you might want to unpublish a page include

  • You want to change your page URL. You are able to change the final portion of your URL by quickly unpublishing and republishing your page. This avoids having to rebuild pages, as all of your page content and styles are maintained when you unpublish
  • You want to quickly swap out a live page with another but want the new one to use the same URL (remember, every page’s URL must be unique)
  • Someone made a mistake on your page. Occasionally people make mistakes when editing pages, by unpublishing you can prevent these from being shown to contributors
  • If you are a Free or RevEngine Core member, you are limited in the number of published pages you can have simultaneously. By unpublishing a page, you can free up a slot to publish another. 

Unpublishing default pages

If you are a RevEngine Core or RevEngine + Salesforce user, you likely have a default contribution page.

This page is essential because all colors, fonts, and branding used on the default page will be applied to your Thank You page, receipts, and contributor portal. Additionally, contributors are redirected to this page whenever they click on an inactive link.

Before unpublishing a default contribution page, you will be reminded of the drawbacks of doing so. However, if you need to make changes, you can proceed and re-publish at any time.

How do I unpublish my page?

To unpublish your page:

  1. Login to RevEngine
  2. In the Pages tab, select the page that you would like to unpublish
  3. Inside the page editor, click the Published button in the top right header bar
  4. Click on the unpublish button that is displayed in the popup modal
  5. Confirm that you wish to unpublish the page
  6. To be certain your page is unpublished, navigate to its prior URL and confirm that you see an error page. When you return to the dashboard you will also see that it is no longer labeled Live

If you unpublish a default contribution page, all links to this page will show an error when clicked. Be sure to replace links and buttons on your website and email campaigns with the new page URL.

Prospective contributors will not be able to view your unpublished pages but will still be able to make payments on any other live pages you have.

How do I republish a page?

Once you unpublish a page you can easily republish it just like you would make any other page live.

For instructions, see → How do I publish a contribution page?